For Girls

In Girl Scouts, girls discover the fun, friendship, and power of girls together. Through experiences, such as field trips, sports skill-building activities, and community service projects, girls grow courageous and strong. Girl Scouting helps girls develop their full individual potential; relate to others with increasing understanding, skill, and respect; develop values to guide their actions and provide the foundation for sound decision-making; and contribute to the improvement of society through their abilities, leadership skills, and cooperation with others.

Girl Scouting is for every girl, everywhere—where today's girls can become tomorrow's leaders. Membership in Girl Scouts is open to girls in grades K- 12

Most girls join a local troop or group for fun and friendship, but they also find out about building character and self-esteem and serving their communities—the core qualities of Girl Scouting. In Girl Scouts, girls find a safe place to grow and share new experiences, learn to relate to others, develop values, and contribute to society.

The Girl Scout program is based on the needs and interests of girls. All members:

  • Share the Girl Scout Promise and Law
  • Pay national dues of $15.00
  • Follow safety guidelines

The Girl Scout Promise

On my honor, I will try:
To serve God and my country,

To help people at all times,
And to live by the Girl Scout Law.

The Girl Scout Law

I will do my best to be
honest and fair,

friendly and helpful,
considerate and caring,
courageous and strong, and
responsible for what I say and do,
and to
respect myself and others,

respect authority,
use resources wisely,
make the world a better place, and
be a sister to every Girl Scout.

Girl Scout Ages:

Daisy Girl Scouts (Grades K-1): Program specially developed for our littlest leaders. Stories and activities help Daisies to earn their 10 petals, one for each line of the Girl Scout Law. They also earn Financial Literacy and Cookie Business “leaves.”

Brownie Girl Scouts (Grades 2-3):  Program activities at this grade level help girls learn about the world around them while earning awards. Girls become more self-confident and are ready to try new things and test out different skills like sewing, camping or even basic cooking.

Junior Girl Scouts (Grades 4-5): Girls learn by doing and develop into their leadership by making decisions about the activities they want to do. They earn Badges and Leadership Awards through skill-building activities and leadership journeys. The Bronze Award is also available to girls completing the requirements.

Cadette Girl Scouts (Grades 6-8):  Girls work on community service projects and identify ways to make the world around them a better place. Girls choose activities like travel, camping, and special events that help them earn their Badges and Awards.  They can also choose to earn their Silver Award at this grade level.

Senior Girl Scouts (Grades 9-10): Girls step into leadership and work on projects and activities that help them further develop their courage, confidence and character. They take leadership roles with younger girls at camp and events, and can choose to earn the Gold Award at this level.

Ambassador Girl Scouts (Grades 11-12):  Girls become leaders through their involvement and understanding of advocacy, environmental justice, engaging community partners, etc.  They are able to be the leaders for change and can choose to earn their Gold Award at this level.

how to wear your uniform

View how to wear your Girl Scout Uniform